19th April 2012 – 1 year since our dear Sarah Jane died…

I am sorry I wasn’t able to post this earlier, but I’ve been terribly ill. Nevertheless, I am here now, writing this post as a form of tribute to the wonderful, wonderful person who was Elisabeth Sladen.

I still remember the day she died… I was in Algarve, and it was the day after my birthday. I was eating breakfast and thought it would be a good idea to check my Twitter. Little did I know… My timeline was overflowing with tweets stating that ‘our dear Sarah Jane has passed away’ and that ‘Elisabeth Sladen had passed away’. I was, to say the least, devastated. I did cry that day, and very much so. The character of Sarah Jane Smith is one very dear to my heart – she was and still remains my favourite Classic Doctor Who companion. It was an absolute joy seeing her back in Doctor Who during the Tennant era – the episode ‘School Reunion’ was brilliant because of her.

One year on, I still find it hard to watch that episode, or any episode with Lis in. Tears flood my eyes and I immediately start sobbing. It is still very tough. 2011 was very tough on Doctor Who-related people…

I love you, Lis. I will never forget you.

About musingsofananglophile

Fran. 20. Anglophile. Daydreamer. English Literature Student.

Posted on April 22, 2012, in Doctor Who and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

